I know I am not the only web developer who
has had to deal with these kinds of messages. If you want to copy this page to use on your own site, please feel
free to do so - all I ask is a reciprocal
link back to my main page.
Did you get a pornographic
spam from Jasmine's Gallery or Astrology.ca?
Astrology.ca appears to be the victim of a
spammer who is using a bogus email address which forges our domain name on the
headers. If you got a message like this, please note it is a forgery - it did
NOT originate from this domain.
I used to work for an ISP owned but
Tucows.com back in the 1990's. I was responsible for writing their anti-spam
policy. I was an early member of CAUCE-Canada,
and was known for being somewhat ... "strident" in my battles
against spam. The ISP was an early combatant in the battle against spam, being
the first to successfully sue a spammer in Canada. So it distresses me to be a
victim of this kind of attack. I am taking it personally and seriously - and
will consider legal action if and when I am able to identify the guilty party
or parties.
Unfortunately, this cowardly spammer is
particularly good at hiding their identity behind forged headers. I have
reported it to my web host, but they are unable to locate the perpetrator.
Please do not send me complaints about this
spam. There is nothing I can do about it right now - though I will consider
legal action if I can locate the guilty party. If you are an anti-spammer,
and have technical knowledge that would trace these headers to the guilty
party though, I would greatly welcome your feedback.
I am convinced no legitimate company would
stoop to tactics this low and dirty. I have no doubt the offer itself is
likely some kind of fraud. DO NOT PURCHASE services from this company or
from any spammer - it is NOT endorsed by me or by Astrology.ca. If
you have any information about this spam-forger, please, email
me.
There is one other problem - it appears this
spammer has also gotten infected from time to time with the usual email
viruses, and sometimes virus-laced messages go out from their bogus accounts.
I do not use Outlook Express for email, so these messages cannot be coming
from me. I sometimes get bounced messages from inactive email accounts that
are unknown to me, which is how I know this is happening.
Brandi Jasmine